On the 18th October 1894 – 125 years ago, Col. James Campbell convened a meeting in Sligo Courthouse and established County Sligo Golf Club.
To mark this historic event, one of the holes from the original 9 Hole Links will be playable for the next few weeks.
The original 4th Hole was played from a tee on the hill to the right of the 17th fairway to the present 4th green. The original tee has been located and cleared, as well as the pathway around the hill known as “Peter’s Hill”.
It was a challenging hole in those days and was aptly named “Satan”. Members are invited to test their skills on this hole and experience what the members of 125 years ago faced every time they played.
1. A maximum of 4 Clubs allowed and no golfbag: 1894 Rules!
2. Do not play when the present 4th Green is in use or players are approaching the 17th Green
3. Players must be “Reasonably Sound” in wind and limb as the tee is near the top of the hill.
4. Take good care as the path to and from the tee is uneven in places.
Bring a few golf balls as any ball landing in the rough will be there for another 125 years!